MY WEEKEND MUST READ BOOKS

I used to read at least 1 book a week. I always update my must read book list but since I got so busy at work, I couldn’t even finish a chapter in a week, not even an entire book for a month. I now suddenly miss my weekend dates in POWERBOOKS, FULLYBOOKED, or NATIONAL BOOKSTORE.

And I need to rekindle my relationship with books, feed my mind with more knowledge, wit, and wisdom. I read for various reasons, either I want to advance my knowledge or I want to be entertained. I read various topics, and different genres as well. I was raised as a reader – I am, and has always been, and will always be a BOOKWORM!

Below are my weekend must read books from today onward.

1. THE CONFIDENT WOMAN - Joyce Meyer

Start Today Living Boldly and Without Fear. This book is a must read for all women in this generation, it reiterates our infinite worth and value as a woman of the world. Joyce Meyer has been known to give women the keys to identifying barriers to confidence, explores the empowerment that comes from preparations, and outlines the steps to independence through dependence on God. As I just get through the biggest battle in my life, I am starting to regain my self-worth, my self-esteem as I take over my own life. And this book, I know, will enhance that confidence I am slowly building for myself.

2. EVERYDAY A FRIDAY - Joel Osteen

One of my favorite author – Joel Osteen has just released this book which tackles the joy everyone has when they look forward for Friday or weekend. What if we should live everyday like it is Friday, this attitude will enhance the way we live our life. A Joel Osteen book is always a must read.

3. YOUR BEST LIFE NOW FOR MOMS - Joel Osteen

Being a mom can really wear one down. As I am also a mom now myself, I know that at some point I need help through the vast parenting responsibilities and teach me on how God can pour our “His far and beyond favor” on me and my child.

4. KILL ME IF YOU CAN - James Patterson and Marshall Karp

If I need to de-stress, I would simply grab a James Patterson book and stay up all night because I am just unable to put the book down until the last chapter. This new book which features an art student who finds a duffel bag filled with diamonds and imagines a worry-free life with his girlfriend until everything seems weary – suddenly, he is being hunted. This kind of suspense thriller drama is a classic James Patterson that’s why I just love him.

5. MIDDLE SCHOOL, THE WORST YEARS OF MY LIFE - James Patterson

Once again, James Patterson has written a genuinely hilarious, surprisingly poignant story of a wildly imaginative, one-of-kind kid. A plot away from his signature genre of suspense thrillers. I imagine my own middle school life, I was once a rebel myself just to get some attention, but never this wild. And I would like to understand where the character is coming from. There is always a REASON behind it.

6. GINGER AND GANESH - Nani Power

This book features adventures in Indian cooking, culture, and love. Some might wonder why the sudden interest? With more than 50 vegetarian recipes included in this book, I want to learn it all. It’s a way of life, I always say. I am now loving Indian food. And my influence are people very dear to my heart and they know who they are. This I will definitely read and have in my bookshelf.

7. 100 RECIPES EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW - Linda Larsen

This book is centered on recipes for every stage of a woman’s life , from having a boyfriend through career building and through having a family. Fun and delicious recipes chosen to fit every stage of a woman’s life, and every celebration or maybe stumbling block. And I am intrigue as some other single women out there because this is not your typical cookbook. The title alone has instantly grabbed my attention – 100 RECIPES EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW: Engagement Chicken and 99 Other Fabulous Dishes to Get You Everything You Want in Life.

8. SKINNY COCKTAILS - Jaclyn Wilson Foley and Ray Foley

The only guide you’ll ever need to go out, have fun, and still fit into your skinny jeans. Now I want that. This is gonna be a good read on a rainy day and binge.

9. EAT, PRAY, LOVE - Elizabeth Gilbert

Some might wonder why a reader like me haven’t actually sit down and read this book. A wonderful, brilliant and personal, rich in spiritual insight, filled with sorrow and a great sense of humor. And I will definitely grab a copy soon to get a grasp of one woman’s search for everything across Italy, India, and Indonesia.

10. THE WINNER STANDS ALONE - Paulo Coelho

I got captivated by Paulo Coelho’s wit and overstated views on life, love, politics, religion and adventures on certain social issues situated on different  cultural backgrounds. The Alchemist, The Zahir, and Eleven Minutes are my all-time favorite of his works. Now this book, which is set in the exciting worlds of fashion and cinema – tackles a profound meditation on personal power and innocent dreams that are manipulated or undone by success.

11. THE BEST OF ME - Nicholas Sparks

I get my daily dose of love story from Nicholas Sparks. Who could ever forget the phenomenal success of A Walk to Remember and The Notebook? As I cried buckets when I read these books and even when the movies were shown in theaters. And I will find out from this book when it comes out in October if whether LOVE can truly rewrite the past.

12. I DON'T KNOW HOW SHE DOES IT: The Life of Kate Reddy, Working Mother - Allison Pearson

Allison Pearson has written this book in 2002 for the modern working mothers examined as a “chick-lit.” This has debuted on bestseller lists as “The national anthem for working mothers.” As a single, working mother, I bear the same dilemma as Kate Reddy. And I would like to find out how she does it. And I will read the book before I will watch the movie.

13. GUCCI GUCCI COO - Sue Margolis

Some lazy Sunday afternoon, I usually crave for my chick-lit books. And this one described as wickedly funny novel about love, men, babies, shopping, and other things you can’t control, is a must read over a bowl of popcorn on a rainy Sunday afternoon.

14. HOW TO MAKE PEOPLE LIKE YOU in 90 SECONDS OR LESS - Nicholas Boothman

In my recent job, my mentor constantly reminds me to learn to read body language and make connections with people working for us. And I would actually be able to learn further the art of reading body language and making warm and meaningful connections for all occasions – business, social, and personal.

15. FIRE YOUR BOSS - Stephen M. Pollan and Mark Levine

I couldn’t name anyone who doesn’t wish to fire their own boss. Impossible it may seem, but lots of working professionals are dying to do it one way or the other. And I really would like to know how to do it and take control of my work life and boost my income.

16. THE 48 LAWS OF POWER - Robert Greene

I haven’t actually had the chance to read the whole book. I read a few passages yet it would be better if I’ll be able to master the whole 48 laws of power. And I will definitely have this in my priority list.

17. ACT LIKE A LADY, THINK LIKE A MAN - Steve Harvey

Sometimes, I wonder how do men think. What are their point of views on love, relationships, intimacy, and commitment? I will find out from this book.

When I read, I feel like I’m bingeing on calorie-free ice cream, and nobody can make me stop.  Reading has become a healthy indulgence, a positive form of escape, a chance to be transported, teleported even, without having to leave your chair or have your cells reconstructed.  It is virtual reality without the safety goggles.

My voracious appetite for books is a manifestation of my own understanding that, “You can get smart for free.” It is actually awesome.

When I read, I’m reminded of all of my senses and sensations and imaginations.  When I read, I’m reminded I have a brain, and a heart, and a soul.

When I read, I’m reminded I’m alive.

Leave a Reply

