Lessons

The virtue of loneliness is a far-fetched idea to the actual reality of independence. The difference is obvious, being alone is not a direct manifestation of a sad and weary life, rather, it is a courageous pronouncement of independence where one doesn’t have to rely to anyone to get things done. It is called responsibility.

The latest ordeal that I went through made me realize a few things. And in order to survive, I had to keep myself together and act accordingly as I have no one at that time. The thing is, it is not because no one is physically with me, I am alone. I am not.

Lesson #1

I came to realize how blessed I am for having a few true people who continuously prayed for my fast recovery. They might not be with me yet they were sensitive enough to check on me and offered some help. Most I had to decline. Why? Because I can still manage and I don’t want to bother anyone as they also have a life to live on their own. It is not pride, it is maturity.

Lesson #2

One reason why I had to stand on my own was because the call for responsible judgment presented itself when I was deciding whether I’ll get myself confined or do it the harder way of staying for 12 hours inside the ER and keep coming back for tests and results and therapy, then follow up consultations everyday. If I decided to get confined, I will be interrupting the lives of people who genuinely care for me. I managed to pull it off and completely stayed out of trouble. I’d like to believe I was a pretty good girl. Again, it is not pride. It is taking responsibility for my own health and assure everyone who cares and who matters that I am more than alright to go get running again. This is what we call maturity. Sometimes, we all have to realize that hospitals are not the best places to stay at, rather, a place we all should avoid by keeping fit and saving our loved ones the gruesome idea of hospitalization and get them out of worry. They just don’t deserve it. To stay healthy is all I owe them for.

Lesson #3

Health is wealth. I need not to elaborate, it does say it all. Loud and clear. It simply states a fact.

Lesson #4

A diagnosis, no matter how categorically unsignificant it may seem, is still a diagnosis that has to be given importance. As they say, prevention is better than cure.

I was diagnosed for thoracic dextroscoliosis last quarter of 2011 yet I never consulted an orthopedic surgeon for advise. I ignored it because I thought it was nothing. Now, it reacted full blast. The unbearable pain was indeed a wake up call.

Lesson #5

Life is short. We should all take care of our borrowed life.

In perspective, I received a lot of get well wishes, much more than I expected. Prayers were pouring from here and there, and in my heart I knew those who were genuine enough. There were those who were insensitive yet they just don’t matter, so in my fighting spirit I say, “duh, who cares?”

Lastly, thank you dear Lord for blessing me with so much. I remain to keep a grateful heart.

20130128-065747.jpg

Leave a Reply

